Shri Debashis Das, Distinguished Scientist and Director, RRCAT 

Shri Debashis Das is B.Tech in Electronics Engineering from Mysore university and joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) from 26th batch of BARC Training School in 1983. He is Homi Bhabha awardee of BARC training school in Electronics branch.

Shri Das has held responsible positions in BARC and other DAE unit. He headed Electronics Division, BARC during the period from January 2015 to October 2016 and subsequently as Distinguished Scientist assumed the office of the Associate Director (E), Electronics & Instrumentation (E&I) Group, BARC from November 01, 2016. Shri Das has held the additional responsibility of Chairman & Managing Director (C&MD) of Electronics Corporation of India Limited (ECIL), Hyderabad from November 2016 to June 2018.

Shri Das has worked on diverse areas – these include control and safety systems of research reactors and PHWRs (220 MWe & 540 MWe), robotics, hybrids and ASICs for front-end electronics of nuclear instruments, radiation detectors based on semiconductor & other wide band gap materials. He has developed the indigenous High temperature (6000C) neutron detectors and nuclear systems for Fast Breeder Reactor program and radiation detectors & systems for nuclear propulsion plant. He has led the team in development of standardized Safe and Secure C&I System for upcoming Nuclear facilities, camera electronics for MACE telescope, Security systems and many technologically challenging strategic projects of DAE.

Shri Das as C&MD, ECIL has accomplished many projects of national importance in business sectors of Defence, Aerospace, Security and e-governance besides Nuclear. These accomplishments include Missile test of ECIL made indigenous X-band Active Radar Seeker, Low orbit tracking antenna system, 4.6 m Ship Born Terminal for tracking of satellite launch, Antennae systems for Swamprabha program of MHRD and Setting up of state-of-the art secured facility for Electronic mass manufacturing – subsequently used for production of EVMs and VVPATs for Lok Shabha 2019 elections. During his tenure, the company has bagged high order book - some in competitive bidding. The company has been felicitated by Honorable President of India for the contribution in Swamprabha program and received SCOPE Award in April 2017 for Excellence and Outstanding Contribution to the Public Sector Management.

Shri Das has been conferred with many DAE excellence Group Achievement Awards and has been the recipient of the DAE special Contribution Award.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution