

Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata, for his Ph.D. thesis entitled "Study of laser driven plasma based electron acceleration and bremsstrahlung radiation emission using ultra high intensity laser pulses". The award carries a cash prize and a certificate. Shri Rao carried out the thesis work under the supervision of Dr. P. D. Gupta (Guide), Director, RRCAT and Dr. P. A. Naik (Co-Guide), Head, Laser Plasma Division, RRCAT.

Two more persons from RRCAT: Dr. Mangesh Borage, Power Supplies & Industrial Accelerator Division and Dr. Vikas Kumar Jain, Proton Linac & Superconducting Cavities Division also received Best Thesis Awards (Consolation prizes).

A paper titled "Development of magnets with support systems for up-gradation of 700 MeV booster synchrotron" by K.Sreeramulu, V.Thakur, P.K.Kulshreshtra, S. Das, Ashok Kumar, B.Srinivasan, A.K. Mishra and R.S.Shinde from Accelerator Magnet Technology Division of RRCAT also won a "Best Poster Award" of ISPA at this conference (InPAC-13).

N.10: Best Poster Award in Cheiron School and Workshop 2013

Praveen Kumar Yadav of Indus Synchrotron Utilization Division received the "Best Poster Award" in 7th AOFSRR Cheiron School & workshop 2013 @ SPring-8, Japan for the best work on "Capacitive coupled RF discharge plasma for cleaning of carbon contaminated optics used in lasers and synchrotrons beam lines" (P.K. Yadav,M. Kumar, S.K. Rai, J.A. Chakera, P.A Naik and G.S. Lodha) held by Asia-Oceania Forum for Synchrotron Radiation Research (AOFSRR) during sept 21st to Oct 03rd 2013. Prof. Hongjie Xu, President of AOFSRR & Principal of Cheiron School presented the award.

N.11: RRCAT family wishes happy and healthy life on superannuation



Dr. S K Deb, SO/H, Head Indus Synchrotron Utilization Division (ISUD) laid down his office on superannuation at the age of 62 years on 31st December 2013. He joined the 17th Batch (Physics) of BARC Training School in 1977. He obtained his PhD in 1986 from Mumbai University and did his postdoctoral work in the University of Hawaii, Honolulu USA

and Arizona State University, Tempe, USA during the year 1998-99. He specialized in Raman spectroscopy, high pressure physics and IR spectroscopy at Synchrotron sources. He shifted to RRCAT, Indore in 2007 and since then he had been the Head, ISUD. He had been coordinating the installation and commissioning of the bending magnet beamlines in Indus-2 and also the development of new ID based beamlines. He is a Professor in HBNI in Physical Sciences. Dr. Deb was member of several committees like Accelerator Group board, Programme monitoring committee for accelerators and Scientific Committee of RRCAT.

RRCAT family wishes him and his family a fruitful, happy and fulfilling retired life.



Dr. Praveen Chaddah, Outstanding Scientist, laid down his office on superannuation at the age of 62 years on 31st December 2013. He did his BSc and MSc from St Stephen's College, Delhi University. He joined the 17th Batch (Physics) of BARC Training School in 1974 and successfully completed as an overall topper of the batch. Thereafter, he

joined Nuclear Physics Division, BARC and earned his PhD while working there on setting-up of Compton Profile Spectrometer with a gamma-ray source for Electron Momentum Density measurements. He did his post-doctoral work at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. After returning to India, he worked on the development of superconducting magnets and of multi-filamentary NbTi wires at BARC during 1982-87. He moved to RRCAT in the year 1991 and started research activities on the material properties at low temperature physics. Dr. Chaddah took over as Director of the UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Researchon May 2005 on deputation and returned to parent department in October 2013. He pioneered various concepts in disorder-broadened first-order transitions, and earlier in the Critical State Model for Hard Superconductors. He is recipient of the INSA Medal for Young Scientists (1978) and MRSI-ICSC Prize for Superconductivity (1993). He was elected a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1993), Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi (2005) and the National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad (2007).

RRCAT family wishes him and his family a fruitful, happy and fulfilling retired life.