Graduation Function of 9th Batch of BARC Training School, RRCAT



Graduating TSOs of the 9th batch of RTS posing for a photograph with the chief guest and other dignitaries

Seventeen Trainee Scientific Officers (TSOs) of the 9th batch of BARC Training School RRCAT successfully completed the one year orientation course (2008-2009).

The graduation function was held in the Central Complex auditorium of RRCAT on 28th August 2009. Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman, Atomic Energy (DAE) was the chief guest for the function. Dr. P.K. Gupta, Chairman, Training School Committee, RRCAT welcomed the chief guest and other dignitaries with welcome speech. The Chief guest gave away the graduation certificates to all the TSOs. Ku. Priyanka Sharma bagged the prestigious Homi Bhabha Award and medal by topping in the batch.

In chief guest address, Dr. Kakodkar congratulated young officers for the completion of the one year orientation course and selecting research field as career which is full of excitement and challenges. He said "India needs scientists, especially nuclear scientist to extend country's civil nuclear programme. The country needs people who can build accelerator driven nuclear reactors, who can do innovation and who want to excel in the field of atomic energy." He further added, "Our department is 50 years young and has several new things to talk about; we have enough challenges for everybody for several decades to come." Hailing the role of the training school, he highlighted the diversification of training school programme in DAE and said "Training school programme at RRCAT is focused on Lasers and Accelerators and here students of Physics and Engineering undergo training programme together." Admiring the enthusiasm of students in atomic research, he said "Homi Bhabha National Institute, a deemed university has 700 PhDs registered at present; if the enthusiasm continues like this, soon around 200 PhDs would be registered with HBNI every year."

The function was presided by Dr. P.D. Gupta, Director, RRCAT and Mr. C.K. Pithawa, Incharge-Indus Accelerator Complex, RRCAT. A vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. S.V. Deshmukh, Member-secretary, Training School Committee, RRCAT at the end of the programme.