

3. *Title*: Laser cleaning of Cr layer from fused silica mirror surface using ns pulses *Authors*: Ambar Choubey, Sabir Ali, Praveen Yadav, K. Ranganathan, B. N. Upadhyaya, M. H. Modi and K. S. Bindra

Dr. Ambar Choubey, SO/D, Laser Development and Industrial Applications Division, who presented the poster paper, received the award.



4. *Title:* Development of high temperature (~900 °C) distributed fiber Bragg grating sensor

Authors: J. Kumar, S. K. Agrawal, O. Prakash, S. K. Dixit and S. V. Nakhe

Shri J. Kumar, SO/E, Fibre Sensors and Optical Spectroscopy Section, who presented the poster paper, received the award.



N.8.5.2: Shri Rijul Roychowdhury, SRF, HBNI received one of the best oral presentation award during Annual Science Day Celebrations 2017 & Research Scholars Workshop in Material Physics, held at UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore during December 14-15, 2017. The title of the presentation was "Photoelectron spectroscopy of GaP grown on Si. Ge an

and a certificate.

spectroscopy of GaP grown on Si, Ge and GaAs substrate". The award carried a cash prize of ₹ 1000

N.8.5.3: Dr. Vishal Dhamgaye, SO/E, Lithography and Electron Microscopy Lab., Synchrotron Utilization Section, RRCAT received the best paper award in the "Eighth ISSS International Conference on Smart Materials, Structures & Systems (ISSS 2017)" held at Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru during July 5-7, 2017. The title of the presentation was "X-ray wave



propagation simulation of x-ray focusing microstructures" authored by V. S. Chinthulal and Vishal P. Dhamgaye. The award carried a certificate.

N.9: New Recruits

RRCAT welcomes the following personnel who have joined during July to December 2017.

- Kum. Ayushi Trivedi, SOC, SUS
- Shri Kavish Bhardwaj, SOC, LPAS
- Kum. Shikha Mishra, SOC, LPS
- Shri Nitesh Mishra, SOC, RFSD
- Kum. Payal Taya, SOC, MSD
- Shri Nidhin S.L., SOC, PLDD
- Kum. Rashmi Gangwar, SOC, HRDS
- Dr. (Smt.) Savita Kumawat, SOC, RMC
- Dr. (Smt) Manisha Chauhan, SOC, RMC
- Shri Kaptan, SAC, CSD
- Shri Amar Kuldeep Lakra, Techn/B, PHPMD
- Shri Laxman Soren, Techn/B, SCDD
- Shri Sunil Kumar Meena, Techn/B, LPS
- Shri Sarbeswar Sardar, Techn/B, FES
- Shri Jaysuria Marendy, Techn/B, IAD
- Shri Prabhu, Techn/B, PCD
- Kum. Divya Dhurwey, Techn/B, CSD
- Shri Sanjay Kumar, Techn/B, LCDFS
- Shri Arjun Kumar Meena, Techn/B, BDCSD
- Shri Raviparkash Shah, Techn/B, BDCSD
- Smt. Supriya Gopalakrishnan, UDC, ADMIN
- Smt. P. Vairamani, UDC, ADMIN

N.10: Superannuations

The following RRCAT colleagues retired during July to December 2017. The RRCAT family wishes them a happy and healthy post-retirement life.

- Shri S.S. Kulkarni, SOH, CSD
 DoJ: 01-08-1980, DoR: 31-07-2017
- Shri Bijendra Singh, SOH, LMPD DoJ: 31-07-1982, DoR: 31-08-2017
- Shri K.K. Sharangpani, SOG, LPSD DoJ: 06-05-1982, DoR: 31-10-2017
- Dr. Virendra Nath Rai, SOG, SUS DoJ: 31-05-1990, DoR: 31-07-2017
- Shri Tribhuwan Singh, SOF, PPSD DoJ: 20-02-1984, DoR: 31-12-2017
- Shri Pravin Kumar Kanungo, SOF, CSD DoJ: 06-09-1984, DoR: 31-08-2017
- Shri Ram Shiroman, SOE, UHVTS DoJ: 07-11-1984, DoR: 31-07-2017
- Shri Surendra Prasad, SOE, CSD DoJ: 23-01-1986, DoR: 31-12-2017



- Shri Trilok Chandra, Sr. Techn/H, IRPSU DoJ: 02-03-1981, DoR: 31-07-2017
- Shri Om Prakash, Sr. Techn/H, DMTD DoJ: 02-03-1981, DoR: 31-08-2017
- Shri Vasudevan Nair N., Sr. Techn/H, DMTD DoJ: 30-06-1989, DoR: 30-11-2017
- Shri Jagdish, SG, ADMIN
 DoJ: 16-01-1995, DoR: 30-09-2017
- Shri Mannalal Madhavrao, Sr. Wrk. Ast./A, LPS DoJ: 16-09-1988, DoR: 31-12-2017

Shri S. S. Kulkarni, Scientific Officer/H and Head, Construction and Services Division, RRCAT retired upon attaining superannuation in July 2017. After completion of training from 23rd batch of BARC training school, he joined TSD, BARC in September 1979. Thereafter, he joined RRCAT in March 1989. He served as Engineer-in-Charge and Superintending Engineer for AC and Mechanical works. He was



instrumental in creating Central AC Plant for air-conditioning of high-tech laboratories. He obtained patent for improving cooling efficiency of AHUs. He was designated as Head, C&SD in April 2010. During his tenure as Head, C&SD several laboratories as well as infrastructural buildings were constructed ahead of schedule. We remember his contribution and wish him and his family a fruitful, happy and fulfilling retired life.

Shri Bijendra Singh, Scientific Officer/H and Head, Laser Materials Processing Division, RRCAT laid down his office on 31st August 2017 on superannuation. He obtained his M. Sc. degree in Physics from Punjab University. After graduating from 25th batch of BARC training school, he joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in 1982. There he started working on research and development



of copper vapor lasers. He moved to RRCAT in 1986. During his 31 years' service at RRCAT, he contributed significantly in the design and development of copper vapor lasers, CVL-MOPA systems, optical resonators, kinetically enhanced copper vapor lasers, excimer lasers and laser materials processing. He has published about 50 research articles in various international journals. We remember his contribution and wish him and his family a fruitful, happy and fulfilling retired life.

Shri K. K. Sharangpani, Scientific Officer/G and Head, CVL Electronics Lab, LPSD, laid down his office on 31st October 2017 on superannuation. He obtained M.Sc. (Physics) and M. Tech. (Instrumentation) degree from the Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya, Indore in 1980 and 2000, respectively. He joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in 1982. He was posted in Health Physics Division (BARC) where he developed various



instruments related to gamma spectroscopy and radiation safety. He was transferred to RRCAT in 1987. At RRCAT, he contributed immensely towards the development of instrumentation and control electronics for lasers. His significant contribution is in development of copper vapour laser chain system, which is used as pump source for dye laser. He had developed time of flight mass spectrometer (TOFMS) for lithium isotopic analysis studies. He was also a faculty member of BARC training school at RRCAT. He was recipient of a DAE Group Achievement Award-2011 for Excellence in Science and Technology. We remember his contribution and wish him and his family a fruitful, happy and fulfilling retired life.

Dr. V. N. Rai, Scientific Officer/G, Synchrotron Utilization Section, RRCAT retired on 31st July 2017 on superannuation, after serving in RRCAT for 27 years. He did his Ph. D. from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, in the area of photo acoustic spectroscopy and worked for 7 years in IPR, Gandhinagar, where he worked on tokamak diagnostics and basic plasma experiments on toroidal plasma. He joined Laser Plasma



Division of RRCAT in 1990, where he worked on high speed plasma diagnostics, laser plasma interaction, magnetic confinement of plasma and on laser produced plasma. He went for post-doctoral fellowship in 2000 for 2 year in Mississippi State University, USA, where he worked on laser induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS) of solids, liquids and gaseous samples. In 2008, he shifted to Indus Synchrotron Utilization Division and worked on the installation of IR beamline in Indus-1, carried out research on radiation damage in glasses and polymers, and plasmonic sensors for surface enhanced spectroscopy. We remember his contribution and wish him and his family a fruitful, happy and fulfilling retired life.